What's Happening at the Foundation


News & Events

News & Event

Greater Worcester Community Foundation Awards Over $675K in Scholarships

The Foundation recently announced the awarding of over $675,000 in college scholarships to local residents for the 2018-19 academic year. Awards ranged from $300 to $5,000 and were given to 413 students who are beginning or continuing their college educations.

Since the scholarship program began in 1978, the Foundation has awarded $11.2 million to 7,784 students through 132 scholarship funds, each endowed by local donors with eligibility criteria reflecting various interests. More than 146 volunteers on 46 selection committees awarded the scholarships, the highest number of awards and annual scholarship payout in the history of the foundation.

Students from the following high schools will be receiving scholarships for the 2018-19 academic year:

  • Abby Kelley Foster Charter Public School
  • Algonquin Regional High School
  • Auburn High School
  • Bancroft School
  • Bartlett High School
  • Bay Path Regional Vocational Technical High School
  • Blackstone Valley Vocational Regional High School
  • Blackstone/Millville High School
  • Burncoat Senior High School
  • Claremont Academy
  • Clinton Senior High School
  • David Prouty High School
  • Doherty Memorial High School
  • Douglas High School
  • Fitchburg High School
  • Grafton Memorial High School
  • Holy Name Central Catholic Jr/Sr High School
  • Leicester High School
  • Leominster High School
  • Lunenberg High School
  • Massachusetts Academy of Math & Science
  • Millbury Memorial Jr/Sr High School
  • Montachusett Regional Vocational Technical High School
  • Narragansett Regional High School
  • Nashoba Regional High School
  • Nipmuc Regional Middle/High School
  • North Brookfield High School
  • North High School
  • Northbridge High School
  • Notre Dame Academy
  • Oxford High School
  • Perm State School #112
  • Presbyterian Senior High School - Bompata, Ghana
  • Quabbin Regional High School
  • Quaboag Regional Middle/High School
  • Shepherd Hill Regional High School
  • Shrewsbury High School
  • South High Community School
  • Southbridge High School
  • St. John’s High School
  • St. Peter-Marian CC Jr/Sr High School
  • Sutton Memorial Jr/Sr High School
  • Tahanto Regional High School
  • Tantasqua Regional High School
  • The Francis W. Parker Charter Essential Public School
  • University Park Campus School
  • Uxbridge High School
  • Wachusett Regional High School
  • Westborough High School
  • Whitinsville Christian School
  • Worcester Academy
  • Worcester Technical High School 

Recipients throughout Worcester County were selected through a highly competitive process on the basis of merit, financial need and special criteria established by Foundation donors. College-bound high school seniors can be considered for multiple scholarship opportunities through the Foundation’s single online application. The next application cycle will open in January 2019.

For more information, please contact Scholarship Program Manager Beckley Schowalter at bschowalter@greaterworcester.org.

Comments are closed.

Share this page

370 Main St. Suite 650, Worcester, MA 01608   (508) 755-0980   Email us   Enews Signup

Give Now   Donor Central